Now

Museums & Discoveries

A- A+

Espace muséologique

The Museological Space of Lasauvage is located in the old Château Saintignon. It is devoted to the history of the village and to a group of young Luxembourgers who, to avoid having to wear the uniform of the Wehrmacht during the Second World War, hid in a mine (Honsbësch Gallery). The museum is open every Sunday from 1 May to 30 September. Guided tours can be booked upon request.

Information

Place de Saintignon
L-4698 Lasauvage

T.: +352 26 50 41 24
info@minettpark.lu
www.minettpark.lu

Luxembourg Science Center

At the Luxembourg Science Center, you will experience and discover science and technology. Here you will experience more than 70 hands- and mind-on activities

In addition, daily interactive shows and workshops will be an experience for any age: Practice with gigantic 1.5 million volt electric arcs, winning (or losing) against a robot at table foosball, producing and tasting exquisite food in the kitchen workshop, melting steel in a few seconds and so much more.

Price

Explorations & Show

Adults: 12€
Children (6 – 18 years), students, seniors 65+, Disabled persons: 7€
Kids (<6 years): Free of charge
Price Show cuisine: 3€

Subscription

Adults: 34€
Children (6 – 18 years), students, seniors 65+, Disabled persons: 18€

Information

50, rue Émile-Mark
L-4620 Differdange

T.: +352 28 83 99 1
reception@science-center.lu
www.science-center.lu

Opening hours

Monday-Friday: 9 am – 5 pm
Saturday and Sunday: 10 am – 6 pm

Grôven Mine

Being part of Differdange’s historical heritage, the Grôven Mine was in operation until 1957 and is now open to the public. What is a mine? How did the miners live? What tools did they use? How did they work? What was all this for? The answers to these questions and many more can be found in the depths of this gallery, which has been fully renovated to accommodate visitors. Short audio stories will tell you the main stages of the mine’s history in a few minutes. Visitors can look at old photos and tools, peer into cavities and breathe in the smell of hard work. You can just imagine all the noise and activity and what the daily life of the miners was like. At the Grôven Mine, visitors can experience for themselves the important role of the mining industry in Luxembourg’s history.

Information

Rue de Hussigny
L-4580 Differdange

T.: +352 58 77 1 1900
culturel@differdange.lu

Attention: The mine is currently closed due to renovations!

Minett Park – Industry, Nature and Railway Park

The Minett Park is an open-air museum that includes the Fond-de-Gras, the village of Lasauvage, the former open-cast mine of “Giele Botter” and the Celtic oppidum of Titelberg. Historically, the Fond-de-Gras was one of the most important mining centres in Luxembourg. A few years after the closure of the last mine at the Fond-de-Gras in 1964, a few volunteers worked to preserve part of the railway line with the aim of operating a tourist train on the line. The first such train service ran in 1973.

Today, at the Fond-de-Gras, several historic buildings have been preserved: an electric power station, old grocery store, rolling mill train, railway station and railway shed, testifying to the mining activity that took place there for nearly a century. Guided tours can be booked and the site is open to the public.

Information

Fond-de-Gras
L-4576 Niederkorn

T.: +352 26 50 41 24
info@minettpark.lu
www.minettpark.lu

Minièresbunn

Back when the mines were operational, mining trains were vital for removing the iron ore carriages from the mine. Today, the “Minièresbunn” shuttles between Fond-de-Gras and Lasauvage and offers a unique experience when visiting the heart of the mine. Please find the train departures and arrivals at www.minettpark.lu.

Information

Fond-de-Gras
L-4576 Niederkorn

T.: +352 26 50 41 24
info@minettpark.lu
www.minettpark.lu

Museum Eugène Pesch

This extraordinary collection of fossils and minerals is the result of years of compilation by collector Eugène Pesch. The museum named after this Luxembourger from Differdange also offers a reconstruction of a mining tunnel and an entire exhibition on the difficult working conditions that miners faced in the early 1900s. The museum is open every Sunday from 1 May to 30 September and guided tours can be booked upon request.

Information

88, Rue Principale
L-4698 Lasauvage

T.: +352 26 50 41 24
info@minettpark.lu
www.minettpark.lu

Train 1900

The “Train 1900” runs between Pétange and Fond-de-Gras on the former “Mining Line”. The train line was opened in 1874 in order to transport the iron ore extracted from neighboring mines. A truly unique experience in Luxembourg and the Greater Region – step back in time with the “Train 1900”. Please find the train departures and arrivals at www.minettpark.lu. The departure of the train is in the neighboring village in Pétange.

Information

Fond-de-Gras
L-4576 Niederkorn

T.: +352 26 50 41 24
info@minettpark.lu
www.minettpark.lu

 

Audio playback of the page content is active.

Stop playback