Municipal council

A- A+

The municipal council is composed of members directly elected by the population. The number of counsellors depends on the number of inhabitants of the municipality. With the 2011 elections the number of councilors for municipalities with 20,000 inhabitants or more was increased to 19, including a mayor and four aldermen or alderwomen.

The municipal council meets regularly under the chairmanship of the mayor and in the presence of the municipal secretary. The meetings of the municipal council are public.

You can find the dates of the sessions here.

You can find the audio recording and PDF of the sessions here.

The Infoblat in paper format

The Infoblat is no longer distributed to all households! If you prefer receiving the Infoblat in paper format, please contact Otherwise, the audio files will be available on our site on the day of the session and the PDF as soon as possible.

The municipal council:

  • regulates everything within the municipal interest;
  • votes the budget;
  • approves construction and urban planning projects;
  • sets taxes and fees;
  • appoints Differdange’s representatives to the unions;
  • issues municipal regulations;
  • appoints and dismisses the civil servants and employees of the municipality and approves their resignation;
  • appoints and dismisses the members of the advisory committees, civil hospices and social services;
  • can call for a referendum.

Municipal council


Audio playback of the page content is active.

Stop playback